TRAPPN#67: The Ferrari Pinin

by jssckr

(Source: Ultimatecarpage.com)

FERRARI PININ, released 1980 to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the company and named after Battista ‘Pinin’ Farina, italian automobile designer (especially for Ferrari). The Pinin is notable for being the first Ferrari with four doors.

I don’t have my driver’s license and I generally hate cars, but there’s something so otherwordly and sexual about Ferraris from the 70s and 80s, especially the Pinin. Cars are one of my favourite things to look at as far as aesthetic history goes, because first of all, the trends are so visible (we take note of design because they’re everywhere) and second of all, because they wear out. This car seems kind of fugly now, but at one point it was considered a prized luxury item. Weird, right? I think if I could get my hands on a really rusty Pinin, that would be my dream car.