TRAPPN#107: ‘Withnail & I’ by Murray Close

by jssckr

Paul McGann, Richard E. Grant

Paul McGann, Richard Griffiths, Richard E. Grant

Richard E. Grant

Paul McGann, Ringo Starr, Bruce Robinson

Paul McGann, Richard E. Grant

Richard E. Grant, Bruce Robinson, Paul McGann

Richard E. Grant, Bruce Robinson, Paul McGann

Paul McGann, Richard E. Grant

Paul McGann, Bruce Robinson

Paul McGann, Richard E. Grant

Images by Murray Close, posted by the Guardian

These photos OOZE camaraderie, right? They perfectly evoke the ‘maleness’ of the film, which is what’s endearing about it in the first place.

Withnail & I has only been in my repertoire for about a year (I watched it at some backyard screening last September with Amira), but, I consider it to be a masterpiece. Excessive drug and alcohol use, awkward homosexual situations, offending posh rural Englanders… What more could you ask for? If you’ve never seen the film, I suggest you watch it THIS SECOND.

Also, Bruce Robinson was such a fashionisto. Not quite George Lucas though, which I prefer in a director.